Indonesia is the most populous country with 268 million people, and also the 4th most populous country in the world. Maritime Southeast Asia (as opposed to mainland Southeast Asia) comprises the countries of Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and East Timor. Some 30 million overseas Chinesealso liv… The 16th-century term "East Indies" and the later 19th-century term "Malay Archipelago" are also used to refer to maritime Southeast Asia. The distribution of the religions and people is diverse in Southeast Asia and varies by country. As of 2018, around 655 million people live in the region, more than a fifth live (143 million) on the Indonesian island of Java, the most densely populated large island in the world. Maritime Southeast Asia is sometimes also referred to as Island Southeast Asia, Insular Southeast Asia or Oceanic Southeast Asia. Insular Southeast Asia. Characteristic of insular (or archipelagic) Southeast Asia are the chains of islands—the Malay and Philippine archipelagoes—that have been formed along the boundaries of the three crustal segments of the Earth that meet there. Crustal instability is marked throughout the region. Of the Southeast Asian countries, East Timor most recently gained its independence, as was mentioned in the previous lesson. In comparing these island nations, extensive diversity in all aspects will be found. The insular region of Southeast Asia includes the countries of Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei, East Timor, Indonesia, and the Philippines. Southeast Asia has an area of approximately 4,500,000 square kilometres (1,700,000 sq mi).

Cold Skin Vs The Lighthouse, Catholic Religion Rules, Nba Finals Mvp 2020, With Every Beat Of My Heart Lyrics, Air Austral Careers, The Easy Way To Stop Smoking, Mr Jones 2020 Watch Online, Camilo José Cela, Ipo Scoop,